When I needed assurance

01 April, 2017

When I needed an assurance
Sarah Chiejile

Be still, and know that I am God. I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth.” Psalms 46:10 (KJV).

But you said you will buy this item when coming?

This was the words that came out of my mouth when my husband appeared without what he has promised.

Instead of him reacting negatively to what I said considering my tone, he only smiled and said ‘you don’t know your husband again?’. It’s like you have forgotten that I don’t promise and fail. This was the assurance I needed at the moment.

I felt a bit of shame at that instance knowing fully well that once he promise to do something, he does not go back on his words. It may not be done at a time I expected it but he will surely fulfill what he has promised.

How often have we doubted God? How often have we even thought that He does not just want to answer us? Probably because the condition we find ourselves in at the moment is worse than the time we didn’t even pray at all. You apply for a job, a grant, an admission and then you prayed as if your life depended only on that and at the end you receive a mail that reads ‘we regret to inform you that……’ and then you bow your head in disappointment muttering the words ‘why me’? ‘Not again’. Perhaps it even you first time experiencing this.

Our scripture for today gives us an assurance that we need to hold on to when we go through this type of situation. “know that I am God”. I am the owner, creator and fountain of all things created so stay calm, relax, BE STILL. “I will be exalted among the heathen – those who do not know God”. He will show Himself strong among those who don’t believe on Him.

I got what I was expecting from my husband and so you will have all you have ever hoped for in God. Remember, God is never late.

Lord a times I allow myself wallow in doubts and unbelief just because of what I am going through – forgive my inadequacies and unbelief Lord. Pour upon me the grace to depend more on you. Reassure me to be calm and wait for your salvation at all times. Help me to see that my answer’s on the way In Jesus Name, Amen.

Truth for the day

Exodus 14:13,14. “Fear not, stand firm, and see the salvation of the Lord, which he will work for you today. For the Egyptians whom you see today, you shall never see again. The Lord will fight for you, and you have only to be silent”.

Reflect and Respond

Have you ever doubted the efficacy of God’s power to bring out of a particular situation? How did you pull through?

Leave a Reply

